Many people enjoy travelling and experiencing other cultures. What are some of the beneficial effects of international travel on an individual?

Traveling is a hobby for many people. For each person, travel is an experience, an enjoyment, and a rest. Besides that, travelling always brings to us many positive effects, especially international travel. So, my following essay will mention the benefits of travelling abroad on an individual.

Firstly, each country has its own culture, so traveling abroad can help you learn many new things about the cultures of many different countries. For example, I was born and grew up in Vietnam. Vietnamese culture has a lot of special things that are different from other countries. So, when I travel to America, I may have a culture shock. One of the biggest differences is family life. In the USA, as soon as youngsters have their legal independence, they fly and go to college far away from their home. They live independently and do everything by themselves. They can make decisions without the help of their parents. However, in Vietnam, families stay as close to each other as possible. Family duty is no joke, and it’s our responsibility as a son or daughter to take care of our parents and elder family members. And when I have kids, they’ll take care of me. Therefore, travelling overseas can help us to learn about different cultures of different countries.

Secondly, you can make new friends and realize who your true friends are. When travelling abroad, you are in many ways more vulnerable than you are at home. You're in a foreign environment where you may be unaware of social conventions, practices, beliefs, or languages. So, many new relationships will be strengthened as a result of experiencing various scenarios together or separately. In addition, being away from home allows you to place a higher priority on your relationships. Some of your pals may not be as helpful or present as they were while you were at home. Friendships and ties with others may blossom. Distance has its own set of difficulties. At home, your relationships will be more complicated. You can't just go see that person whenever you want, much less chat to them whenever you want. Those friends, however, with whom you can connect as if there is no distance between you, will prove to be the most valuable.

In short, I think that international travel is really good for everyone. It can help us to learn new things in new countries and improve our relationships with other people. So, I hope that I will have many chances to travel overseas.