Many people keep dogs and cats as companions Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of pet ownership for the animals involved and for the community as a whole.

Pets are basically a friend or a companion toward their owner, and they are raised with multiple different reasons such as bred for security purposes or for entertainment. While dogs and cats are the most popular pets and occupy more than half of all pets worldwide, many other animals are also kept as pets. However, there are some advantages and disadvantages of caring for animals, especially dogs and cats in daily life. In this essay, I will examine both perspectives from my point of view.

Historically, we all know dogs and cats were worshiped by the ancient Egyptians and occupied an important place in their culture, it is proof that dogs and cats from time immemorial have had an exceptional bond with us humans. Nowadays, they are still the best partners with humans, raising them means that we always have a friend by our side at all times. Plus, the community also received many benefits from the connection between man and pets. This relationship created a number of job fields such as veterinarian, pet caretaker, animal trainer or pet’s shop….Moreover, dogs and cats help our mental and physical health become better. Although they cannot talk, they are still a great listener and make the owner’s mind less tense. Researchers have shown that keeping dogs and cats decreases the ability of causing cardiac disease in elders. Walking with them can always improve one's mood and make a better day. So, raising a pet not only makes a person happier but also makes the community better.

However, there are some disadvantages that may happen in pet ownership. Individuals should not keep a dog or a cat if they are busy people, because raising a pet is an important duty. Plus, pets need good care, nurturing and maintain proper hygiene. All of these things require continuous observation and sometimes people may feel it is difficult and stressful, especially for busy persons. Another downside of raising a pet is healthy risks because of their fur. Some people may get allergic from animal’s fur. Moreover, many of them may have parasites that live on or inside them and infect their owners. Also, raising cats and dogs can pollute the environment because many owners are irresponsible. They let their pets defecate on the street and do nothing, or throw animal corpses into the river. This not only brings negative effects for individuals but also for the whole community.

To sum up, although the disadvantages seem more, it is always nice to have a pet. Owners can change some bad situations by raising pets with good attitude and full responsibility, it will help the community a lot.