Many people nowadays are worried about the quality of the food they buy. What are some of these problems? Can the problem be reduced by governments or individuals?

In the contemporary state of our society, the quality of the food that people purchase has been an issue of concern, as it negatively affects the health of those consumers, leading to severe health issues such as obesity, food poisoning, or cancers. This essay will delve into some of these problems, along with feasible solutions.

There is a variety of problems that the unguaranteed quality of food has created, causing people’s concern about the food they buy. The first problem to be mentioned is the increasing use of processed and fast food. Since these products are undoubtedly low in nutrients and high in the amount of salt, sugar, trans fat, and calories, they are notorious for their contribution to diabetes, obesity, and cardiovascular diseases. Another problem leading to people’s worries is the use of prohibited chemicals in food, as some merchants are not hesitated to use them to capitalize on the profit. For example, in Vietnam, there are lots of small traders who soaked their fruits in carcinogens before selling to beautify the appearances of the fruits, causing people’s concern about food quality.

Fortunately, there are some possible solutions to tackle these problems. The government’s regulatory roles should be demonstrated in raising people’s awareness through subsidy educational campaigns or to impose higher taxes on processed and fast food businesses, as it would disincentivize people to consume these products. Moreover, policies should be implemented to punish and deter those who sold contaminated food with high fines and even imprisonment. As individuals, knowledge enrichment is required to have the right food choice, which is safe and healthy to consume while also avoid risking to damage our health by eating unguaranteed food.

In conclusion, poor food quality is posing a threat to people’s health, but efforts could be made to mitigate the consequences. If the authority takes their shot, along with individuals’ involvement, hopefully, people will not suffer from the problems arising from poor food quality in the future.