Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films Why could this be Should governments give more financial support to local film industries

It is undeniable that a surging number of individuals are more likely to watch foreign movies than homemade films. Their choices are no doubt influenced by a variety of factors and the authority should not take financial support measures to uphold the local film industries.

The reasons why numerous people adore foreign movies consist in the following aspects. Initially, the Chinese always have a sense of curiosity, which leads them to wonder how other people they are unfamiliar with actually live, especially during the Covid-19, when it is difficult to travel abroad and go through the local customs and practices in the flesh. In addition, the local films in China often tell stories about romance, which are cheaper and much easier to produce. The audience tend to feel dull and bored by only one particular topic, as time passes, less and less people are willing to choose to watch homemade movies.

There is no reason for governments to uphold the local film industries financially. For one thing, for fear that the foreign films will strike the local film productive chain, the governments have already took measures, so-call the local-produced protective period, to protect the local film industries. Taking the Avengers: Infinite War as example, this film are not allowed to cast during the summer vacation or the Spring festival, in order to assure the gross box-office revenue of the local films. For another, since the authority will pay for each film, the more films they produced, the more money they will earn. The regulation will consequently leads to a phenomenon where the directors and the producers will be prone to make movies with inferior quality.

Taking into account all these above, we can eventually reach the final conclusion that the authority should build up a more harmony atmosphere of marketing competition between local films and foreign movies instead of giving any financial support to the local film industries.