There are some cities not allowing foreign visitors to share the same cost of sightseeing cultural and historical attractions as the natives. From my perspective, I completely object to the idea that foreign and domestic tourists suppose to pay for different amounts to enter the same places of interest.

The reasons why I disagree with the regulation consist in several aspects. Initially, charging foreigners more money to view the sightseeing they are eager to pay a visit decreases their enthusiasm for this place. What is worse, the lack of enthusiasm does harm our connection with the outside world for such phenomenon disables individuals abroad wondering how our culture or history developed. For example, if the entrance money for the Great Wall were too high to afford, there would be no foreigners even getting the chance to learn the courage and intelligence of our ancestors. Moreover, it will form a sense of discrimination and unfairness to the foreign sightseers, which is likely to cost us more somewhere else shortly.

While there do have some advantages of rising the ticket fee for visitors abroad. For one thing, the local individuals usually are the ones who protect these cultural and historical attractions from natural catastrophes. It is like a kind of humanistic reward for them to pay less than foreigners. For another, as the cultural and historical attractions are indeed public facilities, guaranteeing the national citizens’ priority by charging the foreign visitors more should not be blamed for there is no deniable that the scenic spots of China are crowded everywhere. Taking Xihu as an example, imaging a Xihu with a sea of tourists, how could anyone be able to experience the beauty of nature?

Taking into account all these above, we can eventually conclude that we are not supposed to charge foreigners more for the historical and cultural attractions for the sake of the harmony of our descendants and the future development of our country.