Many people these days change career throughout their working life. What are the main reasons for it? Is it a positive or negative development for them personally and for the society as a whole?

Switching jobs has become more frequent in modern days than in the past because people become dissatisfied and bored with the current job within a few years. Even though there are both benefits and drawbacks to this phenomenon, this essay states that it has more of a positive impact on the individual and the society.

Currently people have various job opportunities and they often look for new careers as most of them are unhappy with the present position after staying in the same job for several years. Therefore, people get bored of their routine and believe they can perform better if they switch jobs. To illustrate, a recent research carried out by the Labor Department of United States sated that 80% of working citizens are not satisfied with their job and an average person changes his/her career every five years. The change in the career pathway will always benefit the individual and the society too. The change in jobs exposes people to various experiences, new technologies and different working cultures and thus they gain a wide range of knowledge and experience.

As a result, they become more motivated and energized to accept new responsibilities at work and finally it is an advantage for their personal development. Furthermore, this trend will merit the society in the long run because when a society consists of an energetic and satisfied work-force which has a better work-life balance, eventually the country will develop not only economically but also socially. For example, in a survey carried out among the employed population who had a recent change in occupation, 60% of them stated that they were happy with the new placement.

To recapitulate, the trend of changing career / changing jobs is more popular in the present because many people are not content and get bored with the current job after performing the same responsibilities for some years and this phenomenon will positively benefit both the person and the society too.