Many people think that it is unnecessary to teach children handwriting skills in this technology age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the use of technology is quickly rising, particularly in the COVID-19 epidemic. Alternative study styles are also becoming more technologically influenced. Despite this, I strongly disagree that handwriting skills are no longer necessary for youngsters and give evidence to support my position.

First, there is no doubt that handwriting is the foundational step and plays a critical part in becoming proficient in any new language. To be more specific, because a complex cognitive process combines neuro-sensory experiences and fine motor abilities, youngsters would grasp and identify letters by practicing and harnessing them daily. Every school starts teaching on how to write all the letters of English as it is an international communication language, for instance, to remember and register words in their subconscious mind. This improves the cognitive ability of a child in such a way that familiarizing with dialect is instant.

Secondly, handwriting has a great impact on the analytical process. It necessitates youngsters’ brains to slow down to look at the "big picture" of problem-solving and select the appropriate information. Subsequently, by picking information, they can actively recapitulate key components, reframe them in their own words, and present them most creatively, whereas typing, on the other hand, requires a great deal of complicated manipulation and also distracts children. As a result, not only do academic and professional performance improve, but young people are also better able to recall and logically expand on previous work. For example, the most common way that many academics urge students to use in their learning is summarization through hand-drawn mindmap. Since children choose to systematize by mindmap, recent studies prove that their ability to retain and memorize knowledge has more advancements than using technology’s counterpart.

In conclusion, although typing options have geared exceedingly toward the writing of every kind, the benefits of handwriting skills are those that develop intrinsic as well as extrinsic talents, paving the road for self-improvement and honing the talents that are still lacking. As a result, in my opinion, schools should instill these talents in youngsters to avoid their progress being stifled in any way.