Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationship. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it is unequivocal that the omnipresence of high-tech modes of communication has been exerting their impact on many aspects of life. It is believed by some that such state-of-the-art communicative devices are wreaking havoc on our social affairs. In my personal perspective, however, I am discontent with this point of view on account that its benefits about connections far-distance relationships.

To commence with, modern means of communication may sabotage one’s relationships with other people. It is indisputable that both children and adults, even the elderly, are engrossed in digital contrivances. With the extreme convenience, people prefer using virtual calls through their phones to meeting in person. In that manner, the interaction between them and relatives, and friends is likely to be deteriorated because mobile phones prevent them from having face-to-face as well as intimate conversations with their loved ones. Another typical example involves people scarify their time to complete game missions, which may disengage them from social gatherings. In that manner, people are becoming less and less emotional and placing their relationships at risk of eroding.

Nevertheless, the main core behind my stand revolves around the effectiveness of advanced devices in connecting relatives despite geographical distance. In today’s society, provided that possessing the internet and a mobile phone, or laptop, a call can be straightforwardly made to communicate with family and friends. Especially, in an era where many people go oversea for study or work purposes, there is a wide range of obstacles to overcome, specifically nostalgia. Therefore, it is no exaggeration to regard a smartphone as an optimal therapy whenever feeling a sense of homesick. Additionally, in globalization society, people have counterparts, and friends in other nations; however, it is easy to meet them frequently via video call, which helps to bridge the gap of communication between each other.

In conclusion, with the aforementioned rationale, I hold a stand that although digital communication brings harm to social relationships to some extent; it serves as a powerful connector in building and maintaining far-away relationships.