Many people today are worried about young children playing video games. What problems may these games cause, children and society as a whole? How could these problems be reduced?

The universality of video games has presented the modern world with several discussions and issues, none of which is straight forward. I believe there are three problems related to this and three remedies could be taken to tackle the issues.

Perhaps the biggest problem stemming from video games is violence. Many games involve aggressive characters, criminals, war soldiers and even killers, which leads children to believe that such behaviors are normal and in the worst case desirable. Another issue would be the obsessive use. Children who often fall into obsession with these games due to their appealing content prefer the virtual world to their friends and families, resulting in isolation and being socially naive. The issue of physical harms should also be concerned. With children staying in front of the screen for an excessive amount of time, potential health problems could arise, ranging from eye strain to bad postures, which are often difficult to recover from.

Turning to possible solutions, the key step should be to improve the level of education regarding health problems of these games via school and public education. To tackle the obsessive use, warnings and guides about false postures should be included as a part of packaging or even the game so that children will be constantly aware. Furthermore, governments should impose strict legislation to censor violent content of the games such as in movies.

In conclusion, there are the issues of violence and health problems involved in video games which can be addressed with the combination of actions from the government, schools and game companies.