Task 2: Nowadays it is not only large companies that can make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is a common thing that making films is now no longer exclusive to large production houses thanks to the advancement of digital technology. While there is the main disadvantage of content control deriving from this, I believe that the trend is more advantageous as it promotes the diversity of the film industry.

Perhaps the key drawbacks of this development is that it is nearly impossible to control the content of all films currently made. While in the past a movie had to pass through a scrutinized assessment from a high-expertise council before getting the approval for releasing, modern filmmakers now just need to fulfill some general terms and requirements from video-sharing platforms, such as Youtube, to upload their work. As a result, thousands of films, sometimes regarding sensitive topics such as discrimination or racism, are published to worldwide viewers everyday. In the best scenario in which these harmful videos are removed from the platforms, they are already viewed by several people.

The main benefits stemming from this development is that it helps to diversify the film industry. With many large companies trying to guarantee their profit in producing movies, most of their products follow the safe and perhaps monotonous patterns. Individuals, on the other hand, can freely choose whatever approach to make a film as, in their perspective, they may just simply follow their passion and do not concern themselves with the financial aspect. This encourages people to focus on various topics of their own interests, which sometimes leads to a huge success. We can see this in many Youtube million-view short films made with only a smart phone about daily activities or cute moments of a cat in a normal house.

In conclusion, I feel that the benefit of creating diversity in the film industry overshadows the disadvantage of difficulty in quality control. This is to note that sharing platforms should pay more attention on and impose stricter regulations about the content of the uploaded videos.