Many people today find that the cost of attaining university-level education is extremely high for the students and their families. What are the causes of this situation, and how can governments, universities and the students themselves overcome the problem?

Nowadays it is argued that pursuing tertiary education and obtaining a university degree entail a considerable amount of budget. While there are several reasons why higher education is markedly expensive, it seems that some effective measures can be taken to address this issue.

Attending university is costly probably because of three main factors. Firstly universities operational costs are generally high because a wide range of facilities are provided usually 24/7, and these services necessitate considerable maintenance expenses. For example, lighting and air condition of the various buildings of campus such as departments, dormitories, libraries and sports fields certainly result in remarkably high electricity bills. A second reason for this obstacle might be the university staff, professors and lecturers, recompense because they often have a PhD degree and so their salary must be of a higher level. Finally, talented students can be awarded university scholarship and funding, and it is highly likely that the required budget is covered by others tuition.

Turning to possible solutions, this problem could be resolved by the collaboration of governments, colleges and attendants themselves. An obvious step is that states play a more supportive role via supplying subsidies for universities. Furthermore, the university should also explore and employ economical managerial methods for critical budget consuming affairs. Moreover, juniors must be encouraged seeking jobs which suit their conditions, even before starting their courses. Through this, they could deposit some money for future expenditures.

It is logical to conclude that although take a university course could be costly because of some inevitable causes, the cooperation of the state, the institution and individuals may mitigate the severity of the case.