In many places, prisons are crowded and expensive for governments to maintain.

Yet, when offenders are released, they end up back in prison a short while latter.

Does prison work? Should lawbreakers be rehabilitated or punished?

In contemporary society, it is regretful that some prisoners end up back in jail after being released in several areas. However, this does not deny the crucial role of prison in maintaining social security. In my personal perspective, prison contributes greatly to the societal peacefulness in which inmates are both punished and rehabilitated to become law-abiding citizens.

It is obvious that prison helps to reform the thoughts and behaviors of the offenders. At first, being in prison provides the inmates a sufficient amount of time to reconsider their criminal behavior and its reverse ramifications. Moreover, jail is also an ideal place to educate the prisoners and make them become more responsible inhabitants. Thanks to this, the prisoners are able to reintegrate in society and avoid committing any crimes.

Since the mission of prison is to rehabilitate offenders as aforementioned, it is undeniable that inmates are worth suffering from strict punishment as a deterrent to their criminals. However, the death penalty is not encourageable in this case owing to moral reasons. Alternatively, after being punished, prisoners are required to engage in doing public service to bring them a sense of living purpose. A prime example is in Vietnam, where lawbreakers are strictly punished and educated in prison. After that painful period, some inmates have raised their awareness about their individual as well as national duties and become standard citizens.

In conclusion, the fact that prison helps to maintain social security and assure people about a safer society is undeniable. Simultaneously, prison is believed to be a reliable place to punish and train inmates to become responsible citizens.