Many processed food and ready-made meals contain preservatives and chemicals. What are the advantages to this? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Since food and ready-made meals use some additives like preservatives and chemicals in those in it’s produces, it is believed that such products increase healthy risk in modern people. However, it may be needed to avoid stale food.

In modern society, people tend to have healthy risk like cancer due to consuming many ready-made foods that contain chemicals. Put it more simply, while such chemical like formalin is added in processing food, this substance will be absorbed in human bodies, and it may cause encouraging growing of negative cell in their bodies. For example, In Indonesia, more than 50% of number people consuming tofu containing borax, one of formalin types, suffer cancer in their bodies based on study of Airlangga University published in 2020. This condition gives negative impact like many people have to go the hospital since the government encourage people to increase healthy lives.

In contrast, there are some chemicals may be added to food dan ready-made meals when it is processed in order to keep them fresh. That it is to say, chemical like formalin is believed by food manufacturer to avoid bacteria destructs food from decaying. For instance, Indofood, one of biggest noddle instant producers in Indonesia, uses additive substance in processing such noodles, making those can consume more than a year for people. It will be positive impact for society because when food have been used in long-last time, it may be can be stock products over more than a year.

In conclusion, while ready-made foods increase cancer risk for society, adding preservative substances is justifiable in processing food in order to maintain them fresh and consumable. It is suggested for food industries to determine number of chemicals can be accepted under supervision by The Food and Drugs Board