Many processed food and ready made meals contain preservatives and chemicals What are the advantages to this Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Many instant foods have been producted in chemical process to make them more long lasting. The preservation of consumer goods has beneficially increased the number of distribution as the expired date of foods can be extended. However, the drawbacks of preservative agents may result some diseases and dependence on instan foods.

The food technology has helped many people to get proper foods, which is consumable in any situations and conditions thorugh preservation process, resulting in even distribution of food materials as they are not rooten in a day. Prior to industrial revolution, people only traded their groceries in traditional market that only offer one-day-lasting vegetables or meats. Currently, public can get long-lasting foods from supermarket and minimarket that can be found in every village. Not only have chemical agents made meats and vegetables more lasting, but they also have indirectly helped people in remote area to get an access of modern foods.

Despite the benefits, the utilisation of chemical agents as preservation has some disadvantages to our health and makes people dependent on junk foods. Based on the medical journal, accumulation of chemical preservatives in our body may lead to some accute diseases in 10 to 30 years later, which can happen faster by overconsumption, and it is not worth a benefit of the long experid date. Besides that, the dependent effect is usually followed by areas that have been introduced to fast-food. They will tend to buy abundance of instant groceries to store in a long time, making them not interested in traditional markets. The dependence on long-expired food has been a new lifestyle, especially in urbans.

In conclusion, preservative agents and chemicals have made food become easier to distribute and preserved. However, these could not cost the importance of health and may result in people relying on fastfood.