Many regions in the world rely on tourism for the revenue it generates. However, some people complain about the problems that come with tourism.

What are some of these problems and how can they be solved?

The natural environment provides humanity with various scenic landscapes beneficial for many countries’ economic development through tourism. In my opinion, it is reasonable to argue that travelers may cause their destinations a significant number of issues including negative effects on the ecosystem. However, I believe that if governments take effective steps to deal with those detrimental influences, they are bound to advance in their tourism in the long run.

Together with the increasing popularity of tourism, there is a certain adverse bearing on both the nature and traditional values of attractions. Firstly, tourism services tend to depend on tourists to earn benefits, so they may easily concess some destructive actions of travelers. Therefore, many visitors lacking self-consciousness have sabotaged memorial statues and treasures at historic sites. In addition, as an area becomes more recreational and financial to meet the demands of tourists, its local businesses are likely to be more pragmatic. Indeed, many tourists visiting Asian nations such as Vietnam, Thailand, or Cambodia have criticized the overly high price of goods, food, and souvenirs.

Nevertheless, if the governments take an initiative in addressing the aforementioned problems, the tourists may still play a key role in the national economy. The proposal is meant to strictly punish destructive actions, even those of the visitors. It is how the leaders can instinctively state their priorities for the nations’ environment, historic sites, and cultural wonders. Moreover, the natives need to be aware of integrity in trading, especially with the tourists. In fact, the worst impression to a visitor is the greediness and dishonesty of the sellers. This will hurt the image of the areas themselves and degenerate the value of their moral tradition.

In summary, it cannot be denied that tourism may do the countries some disservice, especially on their environment and culture. However, I strongly believe that the proper treatment and reliable costs of goods can improve current problems and enhance the countries’ economy in the long run. Otherwise, they may end up with the decadence of their own tourism.