Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarket bin the area. How does these effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Large supermarkets are, without doubt, dominating players of the market nowadays. This essay would analyze the negative impacts of these on local shops and necessary steps be taken to minimize the effect.

To commence with, the first and foremost is taking away the green belt from the cities. To prove my point, big supermarkets require big area which might lead to cutting trees, ruining existing parks and gardens from the site. These green areas are the oasis in the desert of concrete jungle having incredible value for the residents over there. No greenery means no pure air to breathe. As a consequence, people will face severe respiratory problem. Another problem would be the problem of unemployment for local people as supermarkets will provide job opportunity to highly skilled and competent young ones which is not mandatory in case of small running businesses. Adverse impact on local languages and cultures is one more drawback of having huge shopping malls. As such, people from different countries would arrive to buy products from there not necessarily use folk languages.

Nevertheless, the best possible step to tackle the situation would be not to allow them to establish in or around the cities. For example, running these expansive malls out of the cities ensures local people to run their own small shops. Easy accessibility of local businesses will attract customers thereby no dearth of employment possibilities. It will give a big smile on the faces of local residents. Apart from this, providing quality training to local businessmen of doing a successful business would also boost their confidence and morale to battle with their counterparts. Quality products with reasonable price have no match even with the supermarkets. More so, the percentage of middle class or lower class people is much higher as compared to élite class. Therefore, local shopkeepers should not be worried about the flourishing extensive shopping malls.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that offering some facilities by the governments and self confidence plus smart strategy of local shopkeepers would be adequate to ameliorate the state of affairs.