Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

It is true that nowadays many high school graduates decide to spend one year off school before entering a university. Although this decision is likely to delay their academic progress, I believe that the benefits students can reap, predominantly that for their personal development, deserve a gap year they take.

On the one hand, there are several advantages that gap-year takers can gain. Firstly, taking a gap year allows them to explore themselves and their dream jobs. Not all of students after graduating from high school are aware of their strength, weakness as well as career path they desire to pursue; therefore, a gap year can provide them with opportunities and experience to increase their understanding not only of the world around them but also of themselves. Secondly, they can develop useful characters such as self-confidence, independence from the exertion of supporting themselves during their trips or when undertaking a task. This development with the skills they can practice such as problem solving or teamwork, finally, are beneficial to their study at university and, by extension, to their job in the future.

Despite this, a gap year can be considered as a wasted time, especially if students do not make use of this time for self-development but for enjoyment of leisure. They may, for example, immerse themselves in computer games or other useless activities. It also worries them that they start university later than their peers and may find it difficult to become familiar with high academic standards in universities after a period of time with no study. However, I do not agree that a gap year, even only for recreation, is such a waste, but it is a reasonable break in students’ studying pathways. The choice of relaxing improves their mental health since they can alliviate their stress in study at schools and then be more willing to enter a college.

In conclusion, despite the fact that there are some drawbacks of a gap year, I do believe that this decision is valuable for the makers’ self-development and their preparation for university study.