Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time

At present, it has become common among students to take a gap year after graduating the school instead of applying immediately for a university. Peraonally, I support this idea, as it can give students time to think about their future carefully and gain work experience.

First of all, taking a gap year can provide students with time to think about their future carefully. A twelve-year study may make students exhausted and a gap year is a good way to refresh their mind. Many students feel uncertain about their future jobs and career because of the limited atmosphere at schools. As they travel to other places they test themselves in different spheres which can give them an opportunity to choose one of the options as a future career and study that field deeply at university. One more advantage of a year off is that it can provide juniors with a chance of gaining work experience which is valuable to go up through their career ladder. In addition to this, they can use that year to earn some money that they can spend to cover the fees when they apply for a university. Because not all of the students take a sabbatical to refresh their mind but to be able to support themselves financially when they enter a university.

On the other hand, a gap year may not be so beneficial as students thought. Who chooses the junior that owes no qualifications among so many candidates with a high school diploma. In this case they can neither gain work experience nor earn money. Furthermore, travelling to another place may be dangerous, as the level of being robbed, staying homeless and jobless is very high.

To sum up, after 12 years at school youngsters may get tired of studying further. In this case taking a year off seems to be a good way for those students as it provides them with a chance of gaining valuable work experience and some time to brush up their mind. Despite the drawbacks of this idea students may get more benefits.