Many university students live with their families, while others live away
from home because their universities are in different places. What are the
advantages and disadvantages of both situations?
It is true that, although some university students are able to live with their families while
studying in their home town, others are forced to live away from home in order to pursue
their studies. There are advantages and disadvantages of both these situations.
If university students are able to live with their families, there are both benefits and
drawbacks. Firstly, one major advantage is that they are able to economize, since they
do not have to pay for accommodation. Secondly, they enjoy family support in terms of
sharing meals, heating costs, possibly even sharing a room with a brother or sister.
However, the home situation may also have its disadvantages. Family routines are often
disruptive for students who have to concentrate on their studies in a quiet atmosphere.
Without a dedicated space in which to study, for example in the evenings or at
weekends, it is hard to keep up with a study schedule.
On the other hand, when students live away from home, they also face challenges. One
disadvantage is having to find accommodation. Universities are often located in major
urban centres, where rents are high if students have to find a room with even the basic
facilities. However, there are benefits of learning to study independently in another city.
Students are able to escape the distractions of family life, and thereby establish study
routines and form friendships with other students who find themselves in the same
situation. These factors may help them in their studies.
In conclusion, while there will clearly be differences in the personal circumstances of
individual university students, some potential advantages and disadvantages of living at
home or away from home can be identified.