Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages both situations?

While a number of university students choose to stay with their parents when they are pursuing higher education, others pick an independent life. In my view, I think that the two options also have their own advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are several benefits when studying at local colleges. First of all, students can minimize their expenditure such as rent, utility bills and cost of living... Consequently, this could help to decrease the financial burden on their family, thereby pupils can focus solely on their studies and improve their performance. Nevertheless, staying with families also means that students have to face strict supervision and a lot of bindings. Undergraduates will have to live by the rules that their parents set, which can be restricting and frustrating at times.

On the other hand, living away from home for tertiary education can be a lifetime experience for many students. In fact, having a free life can teach students invaluable lessons that can support them for later life. Because of living alone, they will have to take care of themselves as well as learn to tolerate and overcome difficult times, which will not only help harness their many skills but also provide them with a sense of freedom. However, living on their own also means that students will have to shoulder a lot more duties and responsibilities without the support from their family, ranging from securing their academic result to balancing reasonable spending. Constantly experiencing such unpleasant situations can put students under great pressure, which may result in stress-related illnesses.

In conclusion, though staying with families can relieve students of financial problems, it can as well deprive students of their freedom. In contrast, living in other accommodation, though provide salutary lessons, may cause a lot of stress to undergraduates.