In many western countries, there is an increasing number of couples choosing to have no children. What are the disadvantages and advantages of couples having no children?

Having children is one of the optimal reasons why people decide to get married because they need heirs. Besides, it also enhances the tie between them and their spouses, for example, by having a child with each other, their responsibility will be significantly enlarged. However, also because of children, it also creates a myriad of disputes and drawbacks for couples. I will illustrate thoroughly both the dark and bright side in this essay, backed by specific examples from real life.

To begin with, researches show that most western countries are in the period of old citizens, the birth rate has been dropping drastically since the 80’s, there are many reasons lead to this tendency, one of them is because more and more people believe their life would be easier without taking care of a child both financially and physically. As a result, the lack of workforces is threatening the economy and also the society. To be more specific, when the current generation becomes older, they will probably end up at caring centers since there is no close relative left to take care of them. In terms of economy, we all know that European countries are one of the biggest industrial manufacturers in the world. Without new citizens from recent marriages, who would be a perfect replacement for the current workers hence the backbone of the industry is alarmingly threatened.

On the other hand, it is without a doubt that raising a child is not an easy task to fulfill, it takes us a tremendous amount of money and time to educate them and to make them become excellent members of society such as schools, extracurricular and a long list of other factors. Without a child, there is no more problem to worry about before they go to bed and no more responsibilities to think about how to think about, it will facilitate their life dramatically. In addition, the world is accommodating to many citizens and at a certain point in the future, it will be full. By that time, some people will not have shelters, food and water and other adequate factors for us to survive. By choosing to have no children, there are no more social problems for sociologists and heads of governments to solve, and hence, no stress and an immediate remedy will be given.

All in all, many people think the purpose of marriage is to have heirs and keep maintaining the people's race. However, others believe they will not have a single child because they can spend money and time and concentrate on their jobs and life.