Many would argue that scientific research require a degree of oversight from the relevant government authorities. In my opinion, properly handled, this is a sensitive and necessary policy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Performing scientific experiment is fundamental need for each and every field of education ranging from small mechanical device to huge medical equipment or for inventing new drug for any disease in market. Many people are not in favor that, these scientific researches should be controlled by specific state authorities. In this essay, I will discuss pros and cons of above mentioned issue.

There are numerous benefits of carrying out science projects under the government surveillance. First and foremost is, the research data will remain safe and confident under national authorities. Moreover we can prevent misuse of these information as well as mis-conduction of any irrelevant research if it is controlled by higher authorities. Secondly, whichever projects carried out, if they get success, it can be used for public benefits at either affordable price of free of cost. For instance, Vaccines invented by companies which is handled by government are available for no prices compared to medicines produced by private sectors.

On the other hand drawback can not be overlooked. Conducting any research studies under government regulation requires to pass through many stages and it also need to complete notorious paper work. There are very few opportunities available for scientist to work with government so every one could not get chance to show their talent or invention to the higher authorities. Further more performing any scientific experiment under government supervision sometimes take long time to complete compared to private institutions as they have specific target to complete within given time duration.

In conclusion, advantages outweigh disadvantages. According to my point of view, there should be wise policy or research ethic which provide guideline to conduct scientific studies under particular governmental bodies.