Many young people find their first days at college difficult. What are the difficulties they face on their first days? What can colleges do to make them feel more comfortable?

Attending a university is undoubtedly a new chapter of one’s life. Apart from excitement for a new experience, many may find it is quite challenging to adapt themselves to college life. Therefore, colleges play an essential role by offering assistance and guidance to ensuring a smooth transition for freshmen.

The first challenge confronts new students is the change of study requirements. It is difficult for quite a few students to adjust to new teachers’ way of instructing owing to the reason that there are more reading assignments and group projects after class. The differences are significant enough to require adjustments in their learning style and attitudes to knowledge, Students have to change their study approaches to handle such changes, which may lead to stress and frustration.

In addition to study issues, students have to adapt to life changes like food and accommodations. It takes time for newcomers to get used to living in another city or country for colleges. The local food may not be to one’s taste and therefore result in homesickness. Furthermore, for majority of freshmen, it is a brand new experience to live in a dorm and how to getting along with roommates is likely to become a problem.

To address to those issues, colleges may contribute in various aspects. Firstly, advisors or specific committee should be available to students who are seeking consultations in study or mental issues. Secondly, the orientation for new students could be more detailed by introducing facilities on campus as well as surrounding areas of the college. A handbook containing such information could come to handy, making it easier for newcomers navigate the campus. Lastly, different kinds of foods and accommodation should be available to students from different backgrounds to create a welcoming living atmosphere on campus.