Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production Some people think that as land is becoming scarce the world s meat consumption should be reduced What measures could be taken to reduce the world s meat consumption What kinds of problems

Nowadays it is known that the production of meat takes up more space than crop. Due to the fact that the availability of land is shrinking, a number of people think that global population should consume less meat. The meassure with which people would stop consuming so much meat, will be presented in this essay.

Firstly the goverment should do some changes in the menus in the school canteens, because the food that is served there is always 80% meat and 20% vegetables.For exmaple, vegeterian menus should be presented to schools. The main benefit of this measure is that students would be eating more healthy and this way there will be a bigger production of vegetables , than meat. Another great benefit is that the obesity in children may reduce.

Secondly, to reduce meat consumption throughout the world, one measure is to provide alternative products with the same sustenance and quality. For example there are some mushrooms, which give the same amount of proteins and vitmains as the red meat to the body. Growing this kind of mushrooms needs less area and room. However it could lead people to think that all kinds of mushrooms are eddible, because there are different types of mushrooms, which are poisonous and this could cause a lot of problems to a person's health.

Thirldy, another good measure may be to encourage people to be vegetarian. Although it is not easy to draw people’s attention in direction to being vegetarian, good advertisement and healthy diet suggesting to people may assist in reducing meat consumption. Moreover, this attempt may fail and be ignored by people.

In conclusion, i think that people may consider to stop meat consumption, when they really understand the problem here. Some attempts such as alternative foods and products, changing people’s diet, informing them about the current situation are some approaches which are suggested and i think that people may consider in stopping consuming meat so much.