Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world's meat consumption should be reduced.

What measures could be taken to reduce the world's meat consumption? What kinds of problem might such measures cause?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is commonly known that production of meat takes up more space than that of crop. Due to the fact that the availability of land is shrinking, a number of people opine that global population should consume less meat. The measures to materialize such proposition and their possible consequences will be presented in this essay.

Regarding the ways to attenuate meat consumption, the first option is increasing the price of the product. With the binding power of this monetary policy, buyers will have to resort to other alternative sources of nutrition such as vegetables and fruit. The second method is popularizing the benefits of adopting a more vegetarian-oriented diet with the help of clinics and medical centers. The doctors and professional experts in these places can recommend this approach to their patients as a way to avoid getting cancer or obesity.

Albeit effective, these measures are not entirely without drawbacks. To begin with, increasing the price of meat products might destabilize the economy as the industry will cease to function. Unemployment rates will soar as the people who work in this business cannot find customers for their goods. In addition, meat is a source rich of protein and other biological substances which are instrumental in building human body’s immune system and keeping metabolic processes balanced. These substances are not commonly found in plants so the replacement of meat with crop products can be really tricky.

In conclusion, while there exist some routes to a decline in worldwide consumption of meat, the unmeritorious impacts of such measures are anything but negligible.