Medical professionals such as doctors or nurses from poorer countries often migrate to richer countries to work.

What problems arise from this situation? What measures can be taken to deal with it?

Today poor countries see a big migration of medical professionals such as doctors and nurses that choose to work in richer countries. This essay will discuss the problems that arise from this phenomenon and the plausible measures that can be taken to deal with deriving issues.

Unfortunately, this situation affects poorer countries in a way that is not easy to deal with: doctors and nurses are strongly needed to educate people on how to prevent the spread of health diseases. Not only education, though, because those important medical figures are needed to treat and take care of sick and ill people while supplying medications and vaccines. By leaving said countries to pursue their careers, health professionals leave a huge hole behind them, as if food problems for poor people were not enough.

Among all the possible solutions to deal with the low number of doctors and nurses, one is probably to rely on humanitarian interventions. Non-governmental organizations such as Emergency or Medecins sans frontier give a vast number of help in various fields, therefore more health professionals could be recruited and stationed where they are needed the most. Equally important would be to invest donations in the improvement of indigent countries' health care systems, to support native doctors' and nurses' careers and make them stay to help their people. In the long run, the construction of bigger hospitals in areas closer to further and isolated villages could help reach those who are affected the most by the lack of local healthcare takers.

Given these points, the massive migration of local medical professionals leaves the inhabitants of less fortunate countries with miserable health situations, and presumably, the larger help should come from more well-to-do countries such as the European Community or the United States.