Memorising facts is a superior skill for successful learning. Do you agree or disagree?

One of the most significant abilities required for studying success is remembering facts. This essay disagrees that memorising skills are the foundation of educational superiority. Firstly, learning by heart without understanding the subject undermines longevity of the knowledge; secondly, given the permanent availability of the information online, modern schools and universities tend to prioritise other qualities.

Information gathered during studies becomes useless if student can’t neither explain the root cause of it, nor is able to remember it. Learning different subjects simultaneously can be challenging, leading to a constant replacement of material in the brain. Hence, when people are blindly trying to memorise, they tend to loose a large chunk of content by the time when final examinations approach. For instance, research done by the Ministry of Education in UK revealed that those graduates who exploited ‘remember everything’ method, received lower marks than those who simply tried to dig into the basic concept of the idea.

Furthermore, the technological progress has entirely transformed the priorities that institutes of education follow in teaching. With the majority of data being at our fingertips online, the focus has shifted from keeping everything inside one’s head to utilising Internet sources to train other skills, such as analysing or forecasting. The King’s College London is a prime example, where students are allowed to use online library when sitting the exam.

In conclusion, a cognitive ability to memorise is not the major factor contributing to high achievements in schooling since it comes at the expense of other, more meaningful, skills and is less valuable in today’s Internet-friendly world.