Men and women are different in terms of their characteristics and abilities. For this reason,

some jobs are better done by men and others by women.

Do you agree or disagree?

These days, it seems that more women entering “male occupations” than ever before and vice versa. While some still hold to a conservative opinion that there are many jobs better carried out by one sex than the other sex, I firmly believe that people of any genders could be capable of doing everything effectively.

First of all, I would argue that it is a mistake to base on social generalizations about characteristics of men and women as such stereotypes are absolutely incorrect. Although there are certain traits that are typical for one gender but not for the opposite gender, it is manifest that not all women are physically weaker and not all men lack patience and soft skills such as interpersonal skills. Therefore, it is acceptable for women to wear safety construction kit or men to be sale representatives. If males and females desire to work in certain fields, it would be miserable to hinder them from proving their ability, they should be given equal opportunities instead.

Another point should be mentioned is that the presence of both genders at a workplace could bring about a higher quality of work. Towards one specific task, men and women are likely to have distinct ways to handle it, possibly resulting in a higher degree of efficiency and creativity. Take accounting career, which used to prioritize females as it requires meticulosity and attentiveness, has witnessed a remarkable increase of male workers by 30% within two last decades, as an example. In fact, a survey concluded that male accountants are more successful than their counterparts in dealing with financial problems.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my viewpoint that the position of men and women in one organization should be appreciated equally in lieu of judging their gender’s characteristics.