Million of dollars are spent on space research every year. Some people argue that the money should be spent on improving living standards on Earth. Do you agree or disagree?

Outerspace has been a topic that never fails to catch public attention. Some people hold their belief that instead of wasting million of dollar on space research, the government should spend them on improving living standards on Earth. In my opinion, it depends on economic state of the country.

To commence with, it is undeniable that in most countries, there are kids whose parents cannot afford for their studying, there are children who spend most of their time staying in the waiting line in the hospital, there are people who starve because of flood and famine. For example, by raising more fund for construction and maintenance of public hospitals, not only is pressure on public services be reduced but also patients are provided with more comforting experience during their hospital stay as having more space to take a rest. In addition, thanks to greater funding for education, more schools will be built to meet the growing population also creating more financial aid for impoverished students. Thus, there are equal opportunities between those from high-end and underprivileged family to get access to education.

On the other hand, it is hard to deny the achievement of space research. Thanks to the modern facilities, satellite systems are developed, which facilitate weather forecast, therefore, natural catastrophes are predicted. This reduces both casualties and damages in the stricken areas. Additionally, humans are facing up with the scarcity of resource, due to our excessive use of fossil fuel. In order to cope with the energy crisis, the development of alternative resource must be enhanced, as well as developing technology to make use of solar arrays in industrial activities and transporting activities. Hence, our living standards are increased.

In conclusion, if the country is still struggling with pandemic and impoverishment, there is no need to raise fund in extra-terrestrial missions. By contrast, when basic demands like food and education are fulfilled, people turn to higher aspiration like the outerspace ’s mystery.