Millions of dollars are spent on space research every year. Some people argue that the money should be spent on improving living standards on Earth. Do you agree or disagree?

Space exploration is an issue which frequently generates a great of heated debate, with supporters maintaining that enhancing living standards of ordinary people is top priority of the government, while it seems to me that universal research is equally important.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why the government should improve the quality of life instead of pouring money into space research. The first reason is that many regions over the world have been enduring economic deprivation which justify spending on immediately. This is clearly illustrated by the fact that thousands of people in Africa, a country which is notorious for poverty are starving due to the lack of basic necessities such as food and drinkable water. Thus, money should be diverted to this region in order to eradicate poverty and boost their living standard. In addition, it is more effective to spend public money on promoting health care and education in lieu of outer space. This could be because without investing heavily in such area, particularly education, illiteracy rate could be increase significantly that triggers to the economic recession in the long run.

On the other hand, I believe that the discovering the Commos should not be overlooked by virtue of = the benefits it can bring for several reasons. Firstly, as humans are destroying their own planet, the quest for new homeland in the universe is essential. A typical example of this is that Mar bearing a close resemblance is considered a potential backup so as to deal with the shortage of water and electric supply on account of overpopulation. Besides, space programs make considerable contribution to the well-being of the Earth in some other aspects. For example, those involved in space exploration can provide the satellites to monitor the Earth’s fragile environments, and environmentalists can provide information on the survival of life in extreme environments in order to help people recovery from the worst environmental threats and thereby improve standard of living.

In conclusion, while it is of paramount importance to spend money on enhancing the quality of life, it strikes me that the investment into the universe should also made.