Modern lifestyles make hard for people to lead active and healthy lives. Why is this the case? What governments and large companies should do to help people do exercise?

It is widely believed that a change of lifestyle in a couple of recent decades is actually a hindrance to people today to be healthy and active. The reasons for this are varied, and steps proposed in this essay should be taken to mitigate this problem.

The fact that people today are leading a sedentary and unhealthy lifestyle stems from a host of reasons. To begin with, owning to the development of modern technologies and the wide availability of the Internet, people are now spending the bulk of their time using technological devices and being online. The implication of this is that instead of engaging in active activities like doing exercise or playing sports, people would rather sit in front of their computers or use mobile phones because doing so is, more often than not, more enjoyable.

Another reason explaining why more people are being inactive and unhealthy is the ever-growing fast food industry. As people with a hectic schedule are often hard-pressed to cook themselves, they tend to resort to eating fast food, which is arguably more time-saving. This is worsened by the fact that fast food companies are offering their food products at a more affordable price point.

Nevertheless, I believe that the problem of people getting more inactive and unhealthy due to modern lifestyles is not entirely intractable. From my perspective, the foremost solution for governments is to allocate more funding to programs that educate people on the detriment of a sedentary lifestyle and an unhealthy diet. In addition to making people aware of how harmful the above-mentioned factors are, campaigns that encourage people to be more physically active are also warranted. For instance, the authorities could institute days in which the masses are required to go out and jog, for example, collectively. This would definitely not only keep people away from their technological mobile devices but also act as a mean to bond people together.

In conclusion, while the ongoing sedentary lifestyle that is being led by many people can be attributed to a number of reasons, I believe this would be remedied should the solution mentioned above is adopted.