Modern lifestyles mean that many parents have little time for their children. Many children suffer because they do not get as much attention from their parents as children did in the past

Nowadays, some think that children are more neglected by their parents compared to the past and this is due to the hurry and frenetic lifestyle that modern society require. From my point of view, children are suffering of this situation not because parents have less time than that had in the past, but because the quality of the moments which they shared with their mothers or fathers is lowered by the presence of technology.

In the first place, job of parents has to be considered. In fact, many people may think that parents, especially women, are busier in working now rather than in the 50s or 60s. Some high level job occupations are well known to increase pressure and stress as well as work hours and might be responsible of the missed attention to children. However, going back in time, there were more people attending humble manual jobs such as workmen in industries and they were forced to crazy working hours too but with low salaries and probably with less gratification. Evidently, parents in the past were busy as the ones of the present.

Instead, in my opinion, what is responsible of the pain of children in relation of their parents is partly the role of technology in modern times. For example, children are often left alone to play video games or to watch television programs without effectively doing something together with their mothers or dads. When little kids experiment loneliness, they perhaps start to feel a sense of rejection from their parents. Probably, it would be better for them spending their free time in playing games outside, maybe in a park, clearly along with their parents.

To conclude, although it is undoubted that people today have big expectations on their careers causing little concerns to their children, I believe that unhappiness of children is more because of technology, which does not give the opportunity to share good moments with their parents.