Modern technology is now very common in many work places.How do you think this has changed the way we worked?Do you think there are disadvantages to reply too much on technology?

In this day and age, technology plays a pivotal role in most workplaces. In the past, although a certain number of technologies was present in the office, most of the work was done manually. Yet today, seemingly due to the advent of modern technology such as the Internet, the mobile phone and the like, never before has the productivity rate reached such peaks. This is often cited as a reason for fostering the use of modern technology in working places more and more.

Modern technology has taken over offices, industries and factories just to name a few. From automation of manufacturing goods to drone waiters in restaurants, the ubiquity of modern technology has dramatically increased the productivity in all major sectors whilst lowering the costs. This, in turn, has completely transformed people’s relationship to work.

Considering the rapid pace of automation in workplaces, it seems safe to assume that in the mid-term most repetitive tasks will end up being automatised, to some extent at least. Such a trend has been shown in practically all sectors, including the military. Not surprisingly, drones are already being used in warfare, automatising crucial life-and-death decisions that were once the job of human soldiers.

That modern technology has radically changed the way we work is evident. Hence, albeit I acknowledge all the advances brought about by the use of technology in workplaces, it is my belief that to delegate certain tasks to machines might be ethically dubious at best and should be thought through very carefully. After all, relying on algorithms to decide some critical situations may have unpredictable outcomes.