In the modern world, it is no longer necessary to use animals for food, clothing or medicines.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many people believe that in today's world, humans no longer need animals in making food, clothing or medicines products. Personally, I disagree with this opinion because people are still in great demand of animals, particularly in food and pharmaceutical manufacturing. Nevertheless, the advancements in science can help people to reduce human uses of animals in clothing industry.

Animals play a crucial role in numerous different areas of human life, especially in the production of food and medicines. Clearly, animals provide much of the meat eaten by the human population, whether farmed or hunted, and meat is an essential source of various vital nutrients. Therefore, animal-sourced food is significant part of humans' diet. Stopping using animals as food means that all humans must practise vegetarianism or veganism for nourishment and this is simply impossible. In addition, animals are needed in research to develop drugs and medical procedures to treat diseases. Animals are ideal research subjects because they are biologically similar to humans and have many of the same health problems. Therefore, animal testing is needed in order to test the effectiveness and safety of a newly-discovered cure or medicine. Scientists must do experiments on animals since there are no alternatives and it is impractical and unethical to study humans.

However, the usage of animals in other industries can be limited significantly thanks to the inventions of new artificial materials. Taking clothing manufacturing as a typical example for this. In the past, many animal species were hunted and farmed for their fur or skin to make clothing items and accessories. However, at present, humans would not need any of the animal's body parts since there are now many synthetic materials available today with their quality as high as the animal-derived textiles, such as synthetic wool or artificial leather. Also, thanks to the discovery of synthetic dyes, people stop using insects, such as snails or bugs, for textile dyeing.

In conclusion, it seems to me that human's demands of using animals and animal products are still tremendously great, which can be clearly in food and pharmaceutical sector. However, human uses of animals can decline thanks to scientific discoveries and this has been proved in clothing industry.