In the modern world, people no longer need to use food from animals or products from animals such as medicine and clothing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technological advances have led to the general notion that animals should not be allocated to people’s food or other industries such as healthcare or clothing. From my perspective, I comprehensively dissent with this outlook owing to essential nutrients for human life and their vital function in the development of the world.

Admittedly, animals play a crucial role in not only the food chain but also nutritional value in daily life. First, animal-made food such as beef, pork and chicken contains a numerous variety of proteins and lipids which cannot lack at in regular meals. These kinds of nutrients are required for optimal development while fruit and vegetables do not have. With the supply of various substances, the body’s immune system gets drastically stronger when compared with that of people who do not consume protein diets, resulting in a healthy body. Moreover, the symbiotic or antagonistic relationships are several emblematic examples for mutual interactions among animals, including humans. This indicates that if humans cease using food from animals, their partners in these partnerships either lose or grow abnormally. As a result, food chain disorder is inevitable.

Furthermore, the evolution of humanity is attributed to drug manufacturing with main ingredients from animals. The popularity in using animal-derived pharmaceuticals such as rhinoceros horn, bear gallbladder are condemned since this practice is pushing rare animals to the verge of extinction. In the interim, the positive efficiency in employing animals in making drugs is inevitable. Perceptibly, there is no future in omitting animals in the medical industry; however, there may be a method to use wildlife responsibly by analyzing its chemical components at the molecular level. At every point, thanks to modern technologies, a DNA sequence is widely accepted in producing drugs or unveiling new treatment methods. For example, chlorotoxin Cy5.5, derived from the venom of scorpion Leiurus quinquestriatus, allows connection to ion channels on the surface of brain tumor cells. The toxin aids researchers to spot cancer lumps as small as 200 cells, making it 500 times more sensitive than MRI scans.

In terms of apparel, the utilization of animal-derived clothing is controversial due to humanitarian reasons; however, people cannot deny the quality of these products. The exploitation of fur and leather from cattle and poultry has benefited the fashion industry. For instance, the feather utilized in the garment industry is a by-product of food production. Another example is silkworm, this fabric repels moisture well, making it ideal for clothes because of its high level of absorbency. Furthermore, it wicks away colors efficiently, allowing manufacturers to utilize low-impact or natural dyes.

In conclusion, while the multitudes believe in a future without animal-based products, I believe that this idea is pretty impracticable, particularly in the food industry. Nonetheless, technological technologies in the current world will allow humans to limit the use of animals in the manufacture of products and items.