In the modern world, a university education is essential in order to get a

rewarding job and earn a high salary.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We live in a knowledge-based society. Recent years have witnessed an upsurge in the number of university enrolment and many, in fact, believe that a university degree is a stepping stone to a decent, highly paid career. Yet, the opposite is equally true.

For some jobs, a university degree is essential. People aspire to succeed in life, and society has made some professions more prestigious than the others, notably doctors and lawyers. In order to pursue these careers, one must undergo a university education. Moreover, today's competition in the job market means that a higher degree is essential to stand out among the candidates of white-collar jobs. Achieving higher level degrees, such as a PhD, can also lead to job promotion and, eventually, an increase in salary. Hence, getting a tertiary degree could secure a decent job in this meritocratic society.

However, a university education is not always required to achieve a self-fulfilled life. Many, in fact, live on satisfactorily with a decent wage without having attended a university. To illustrate, manual works such as plumbers and electricians are actually more rewarding than the office jobs. Besides, those who are badly affected by rising unemployment are often graduates. Learning a vocation is as good as going through the higher education. Not only do high salary careers mostly depend on job scarcity, the definition of a rewarding career itself is highly subjective. High-status professions do not always guarantee self-fulfilment. Thus, it is unreasonable to equate well-paid jobs to university education.

Undeniably, the university is the last furlong of most people's life. Profession, conversely, encompasses passion, social needs and one's background. Thus, a university education is not necessarily a prerequisite for a decent job; a right attitude and a handful of experiences are more essential.