More and more business and individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating

Technology has revolutionized human interactions in last few decades. Communication by using digital methods has replaced face to face meetings on commercial as well as personal levels. This development, although welcomed passionately, has significantly impacted security and business and personal networking.

One huge benefit of using technology to communicate is that it is efficient and time saving. Connecting with friends or business clients face to face is time consuming and takes a lot of effort especially while commuting to reach the place of meeting. However, by using social media websites like skype, facebook and whatsApp, this hassle can be avoided altogether. Also, since consumers can access these sites by just clicking a button on their smart phones, technology has also given business owners an opportunity to boost their chances of marketing. All major brands have now social media presence to facilitate their customers without making them visit outlets for even minor complaints. Walmart, for instance, has its online complaint center where buyers can talk to its customer service representatives any time of the day. Similarly, individuals can now talk to their friends living far away without the trouble of going out of station or country. Moreover, it is easier to follow up old peers and clients as the whole world is connected through sophisticated technology.

On the other hand, excessive use of digital methods has made humans vulnerable to privacy invasion. Many social media sites sell consumer data to various governments and organizations for money and this is a major security threat. Moreover, hacking is rampant in online world and confidential information often gets stolen. Large companies use these notorious ways to damage the business of their competitors. On individual levels, private data from phone is often used to blackmail the victim for personal agendas. For example, two years ago, Facebook was accused of selling data to Pakistani government, which led to arrest of many human rights activists and damage to their rights of free speech.

To conclude, technology has replaced face to face meetings and communication by digital methods is now being significantly preferred. While this method is rapid and convenient, security threats associated with its use can prove dangerous to business professionals as well as individuals. However, if effective legislation is made to control theft or sale of data, technology can prove as an excellent method to enhance human communications in this modern and fast paced world.