With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources.To what extent do you agree?

With the advent of machinery and modern ways of living, requirement of energy resources has flared up in recent decades. This has triggered a debate about digging unexplored land worldwide in search of oil and gas. While there may be other methods which are less harmful to other species, I strongly agree that massive geological work needs to be done under the surface of earth to ensure uninterrupted availability of natural resources to humans.

It could be argued that humans are being selfish and they are exhausting underground resources for their materialistic needs. Since many plants needs natural minerals and nutrients under the earth to grow, excessive digging might lead to detrimental effects on such vegetations. It could also result in soil erosion, loss of land suitable for plantation and deterioration of other living species on earth. For example, due to excessive digging, blue fungi has gone extinct from deep earth and proven a threat to survival of worms, which use it as their nutrition.

However, finding new natural resources is crucial for human progression and this undoubtedly outweighs any disadvantage this practice has to other species. With rapid modernization, machineries are being used to manufacture necessary commodities. Such technology requires massive supply of energy resources and putting experts on finding natural gas and oil in far away places of the world is the only soultion. If this doesnot happen, factories will close down and economy will collapse. Many will become unemployed and masses will be without basic life facilities, hindering the progress of humanity. For example, many factories in China stopped working recently due to unavailability of fuel and led to economic chaos. Moreover, synthesizing feul products is impossible to afford and will not be sustainable owing to the huge demand of current times.

To conclude, growing global demand of energy sources has led to utmost need of working on untouched land in search of natural feul sources. It might have a harmful impact on other lives on earth but humans cannot afford to worry about other species at the cost of their own benefit. Therefore, countries should certainly invest in starting new projects to discover natural resources.