More and more number of people are travelling nowadays as compared to the past. What are the reasons behind it? What are the benefits of travelling.

Travelling is becoming increasingly more popular. Each year more people are including at least one trip in their vacation plans as opposed to staying in their local area. This essay will discuss the reasons why this is happening and put forward several advantages of this new habit.

In the past, only wealthy people would travel due to huge trip expenses, and the tourism industry was not well-developed. Nevertheless, the panorama has changed significantly owing to low cost airline ticket prices, great offers of tourist packages for all consumer profiles, available services on the internet and in some select cities their economy is built upon tourism. As a result of this people are going to travel frequently on vacation or holidays. To illustrate this aspect, Foz do Iguaçu city is not a metropolis but has an international airport, more than 200 hotels and several secondary tourist attractions beyond Iguaçu Falls; furthermore, the city is well served by roads and tourist services.

This new tourism scenario has brought a diverse range of benefits for travellers. What are the main ones? First, leisure activities are valuable now given the fact that personal daily routine is so stressful. As a consequence, a trip to escape the daily grind is currently considered a remedy for the mind; therefore, if a person has a pleasant vacation, they would probably be more refreshed for another stint of work. Additionally, travellers could learn about history, geography, languages, and other relevant things related to the world.

To summarise, the growth in the number of travellers is a reality provided by the development of the tourism industry and people's perception of the need to relax outside their everyday environment. Considering this, travelling may be more enjoyable, relaxing and profitable than ever before.