More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Today’s children are spending too much time on using the technological devices. Many parents think that children should be allowed to play on computer, smart phones, and tablet is because that this is beneficial for the children to improve their technology skills. This essay will discuss why this idea has more downside effects on children then its benefits.

The primary argument supporting this idea is that people think that the technology skills are important for their children’s future. In this era, the world is becoming more to rely on the technology. Countries and individuals are maintaining their existence because of the technological developments. The result of this is that people think these skills offer their children to find a job more easily in the future.

However, it must be said that there are several harmful effects on the development of children. The major one is that lack of social skills may develop in children. They are spending more time online communication than that in person. This is because, they cannot make friends in the real life and even they cannot continue the friendships that already have. Secondly, this lifestyle may cause the children to be depressed and alienated because of lack of real relationships in the real world. The result of this might be that increasing of committing suicide among children, and even growth in the crime rates in many countries. Another one, these children are not aware of the real life and the responsibilities they have. They think that life is easy to live, and they will always maintain their life as in their children times. Therefore, they will probably not be able to act like adult in their later age.

In conclusion, using of technological devices among children has benefits for their future life, however, I think that this approach can be much more harmful for the children and has more disadvantages than its advantages.