More and more people are forgetting the meanings behind occasions, such as national festivals. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions do you suggest?

Traditionally, festivals are arranged to honour an occasion or an individual. However, in the modern world, people often misunderstand the actual meaning behind these celebrated days. It is argued that the main causes of this are the lack of reminders people receive in their day-to-day lives and the decreasing level of relevance certain holidays have to lifestyles in the modern world. To tackle these issues, Internet and television related solutions will be analyzed for viability.

Firstly, one reason behind why people forget the significance of certain occasions is that they are not regularly reminded. To counter this, an idea could be to use the landing pages of popular websites to remind people of the historical context behind celebrated occasions. For example, Google often alters the logo of its landing page to reflect culturally meaningful days. When people visit the site on the holidays like Christmas and Harvesting, the Google logo is graphically altered to reflect the festivities, and visitors can click it to received additional information on why the day is significant. As most people access Google on a regular basis, the effectiveness and educational value of this suggested solution can be seen.

Another reason behind why people are forgetting the meaning of certain occasions is that these occasions are becoming increasingly less relevant to modern lifestyles. Successful efforts have been made to tackle this through government sponsoring of TV informercial that explain how historical events connect to modern life. In Canada, for example, most nationally syndicated television stations run a brief series entitled 'A part of our heritage', which explains how historical Canadian events, such as the influx of migrant in the 1800s, acted as precursors to modern cultural practices. As this shows, television can be a very effective way to help people better see the meaningfulness of their national holidays.

As is clear, website landing pages and dramatised history informercials are effective ways to help people understand the relevance behind the holidays they celebrate. It is thus hoped these stategies are put into place everywhere to stimulate historical literacy.