More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

It seems true that the movement of population from rural regions to urban ones in pursuit of better lives has become increasingly common. In fact, this trend has led to certain drawbacks for city life, and I can identify two remedies which governments can use to address these issues fully.

Perhaps the most widely-observed disadvantage of residing in cities is the prohibitively expensive costs of renting or buying houses, which may stem from the ever-rising urban sprawl. This can be seen in many large Asian cities such as Bangkok where such prices have witnessed a gradually upward trend over the past two decades. Another difficulty would be the harsh competition among job seekers, especially for uneducated migrants. This tends to be the result of the considerably increased number of such people, which seems to outweigh the quantity of available job positions.

Regarding possible solutions, probably the most immediate remedy would be to reduce the migratory flow to certain extent by improving the rural economy. In fact, this can be for the governments to encourage more investments in rural industry by imposing lower taxes on companies which create employment in such areas. Another further long-term step may be to build more affordable and social accommodation in suburbs and to promote the use of public transport simultaneously. This can allow residents to afford their housing, yet to be able to commute long distances for work daily, thus lowering the population’s density in inner cities.

In conclusion, the migration from countryside to cities tend to create more job competition and to make the housing costs become intolerably high. However, governments’ actions such as introducing proper economic policies and having more effective urban planning may enhance the quality of life for all city inhabitants.