More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

In many parts of the world, there is an increasing tendency for people living in rural areas to move to major cities in order to improve their quality of life. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of living in urban areas, solutions can be taken by the governments to tackle the potential problems.

There are a number of problems when living in major cities. The first issue worth mentioning is the air pollution. It is true that in big cities, factories and vehicles release huge amounts of carbon emissions into the atmosphere every day, which cause citizens to suffer from some serious respiratory diseases such as lung cancer or asthma. Another problem that should be taken into accounts is the high unemployment rate. This is due to the fact that there would be numerous people competing for a position. Therefore, residents who lack essential skills and qualifications could not find a stable job in a city and may be likely to commit a crime.

In order to address the problems mentioned above, several actions should be taken by the authorities without any delay. Firstly, urban government should impose higher tax on factories who have poor records on carbon footprint and invest more money in projects to find alternative sources of energy that are environmentally friendly. Therefore, this could help mitigate the rising level of air pollution in cities and protect public health. Secondly, more public spaces such as parks or squares should be constructed to provide places for people to engage in leisure activities, reducing stress as well as improving their physical health.

In conclusion, despite some obvious disadvantages of city life mentioned above, authorities could make necessary efforts to make urban life better for city-dwellers.