More and more students at university today are not choosing to study science.

Why is this happening?

What are the effects of this?

Currently, increasing number of university students are giving up the thought of choosing science as a segment of their study. From my perspective, the society and teaching methods are responsible for this and this trend could have detrimental impacts on the development of a nation even the world.

This aforementioned phenomenon stems from the societal consensus that science is hard to learn. Majority of the students are aware of the difficulty of the science since they have been in touch with it from childhood as a compulsory course. The deeper they dabble into it, the more they know how much time they would spend on that to figure the abstract theories out.And not to mention under the overwhelming pressure which they would suffer from university academy to which science may have no or meager benefits. Moreover, the trend can also attribute to the teaching methods of science. If there exists a insightful professor who can strike a balance between the abstract theory and interests, students’ inclination to science can be triggered since they are more likely to obtained the sense of fulfillment, simultaneously enjoying the pure delight of acquiring knowledge.

If the relentless advance of quitting studying science in university into every corner of the society, it would might completely oust the achievement the earlier scientist of a nation has gained. Had it not been their contribution, the whole nation would have not attained the status and competitiveness it have strive for, as productivity now is to a large extent determined by science. Worse, if that spreads to the whole world, the process of human’s development could possibly stagnated. This stands stark contrast to the process in industry revolution when science took a huge leap.

In conclusion, the trend of not choosing to study science result from the consensus and inappropriate teaching methods, and it definitely damage a nation even the world development.