Encouraging people to use public transport is the best way to solve traffic problems in the cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The traffic congestion has been disturbing people for a long time, some people deem encouraging citizens to use communal transports as an optimal method to tackle this social issue. From my perspective, despite my partially agreement on the encouragement of using communal transports to cope with traffic congestion, it is not the best solution.

Undeniably, choking traffic jam attributes to the surging number of private vehicles which most people living in the city depends on for daily commuting. And during the peak hours, the clogging roads are mostly due to the private cars. In addition, the increasing number of private cars correlate with the dense population. Hence, by introduction of more communal transports and encouraging people to use them, the number of automobiles flowing on the road will be reduced and that will exert a positive impact on traffic jam.

Nevertheless, in the long run, the encouragement on communal transports will not truly eliminate traffic congestion.The main reason why the majority commuters choose their own vehicles rather than communal transports can come down to the comfortability which they cannot obtain from public transports where they even possibly hard to stretch because of the crowding people.Therefore, if government cannot guarantee a comfortable travel and control the increasing population, the flowing cars on the road will come back.And there’re other method such as widening roads, getting vehicles and bicycles separated, constructing reversible lanes, by which citizens can not only enjoy a smooth journey, but also ensure security.

To capsulate, encouraging people to use communal transports is not a sustained effective and best way to tackle traffic jam, other thoughtful measures like introducing decentralization, constructing new road are required.