More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses for communities in poorer countries. Why do young people choose to do so? Who will benefit more: young people or the communities?

An increasing number of young people in developed nations are doing volunteer work to support less wealthy countries in their free time. In this essay, I will discuss the factors that contribute to this trend and whether it is more beneficial to the volunteers or the recipient communities.

There are several reasons why teenagers and young adults in developed nations are spending time for goodwill activities, one of which may be the increased awareness on current world issues among people. With the rise of social media platforms, a lot of information about the situation of people from poorer corners of the world has been made available to the youth, which is also the main user group of these platforms. Having noticed the struggles of people from different countries, young adults may become more motivated to help others through small teaching and building projects. Recognition appears to be another factor that encourages young people to opt for unpaid activities, which is vital for high school students preparing for college application. Volunteer extracurriculars are a great way to catch the attention of the admission board, because the participants can demonstrate kindness, empathy, as well as leadership and time-management skills. It has been reported that CVs that contain unpaid work have an increased 34% chance of being selected compared to those that do not.

The positive effects of goodwill unpaid work on communities in poorer nations are undeniable. However, I believe that young people are more likely to reap the benefits after these activities. Often, the scale of volunteer projects may not be enough to create a long-lasting impact on poorer nations. Free language courses for children in need, for example, can only help them understand the basics, which may not be of much help for them in the long run. For students, however, doing volunteer activities can help them gain valuable skills such as event management and teamwork that may be helpful for them in their future careers. Furthermore, as mentioned in the previous paragraph, the certification from these extracurriculars can also be beneficial for them when applying for scholarships or universities.

In conclusion, increased awareness and recognition are two main reasons for the increased number of young people in wealthy countries doing unpaid work to support poorer nations. Although the positive impacts of these projects on the communities are apparent, young people are more likely to benefit from them eventually.