The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

As the global population rises, demands for consumer goods also increase significantly. Reportedly, this trend is posing a deadly threat to Earth’s natural habitats and negatively affecting millions of creatures on our planet, including human beings. In this essay, I will discuss the factors that contribute to retail goods’ impacts on the environment, and suggest solutions to this issue.

One of the environmental impacts of the manufacturing of items we use everyday is the alarming amount of waste from product packaging. For instance, plastic is one of the most harmful resources for the environment: a product made from plastic can take over a century to be disposed of. Still, plastic bottles, boxes and straws are still being used very widely by billions, and the amount of plastic litter is unimaginable. In addition, the toxic chemicals that are released from factories in the process of goods production can pollute the habitats of animals, especially those that live underwater. In 2012, for example, a Vietnamese factory that produces goods drilled holes to release the toxic chemicals into the ocean, polluting an entire section of sea and killing thousands of fish.

It is crucial that immediate measures be implemented to prevent and resolve this global issue. First of all, companies should be encouraged to produce eco-friendly items made from plant-based materials. In Vietnam, a lot of companies are packaging their products by using materials made from sugar cane or plants. Second of all, the government should impose stricter laws on the production of consumer goods to ensure the safety of the manufacturing process towards the environment. Lastly, schools and educational institutions should take responsibility to educate young people on the importance of protecting our planet and raise students’ awareness regarding this problem.

In conclusion, a lot of factors contribute to the damage of item production on the environment, namely toxic waste and chemicals from packaging and manufacturing processes. Nonetheless, there are many ways that this situation can be relieved, as long as everyone is willing to put in effort.