More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why?

Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

With the number of working women soaring in our contemporary society, higher number of couples decide to have children in their later stages than in the past. There are numerous factors which latent in the past but are more evident now. There are some advantages of it which overwhelms the present disadvantages.

In earlier stages, women were thought to be confined only towards household workers and rarely got opportunities to work in outside fields along with men. In these circumstances, having a child in early age seemed plausible, where the sole worker was less involved in raising the children but more occupied in earning for his family. This was the accepted norms of earlier times, but our modern world has gone through a drastic change where women are now considered equally responsible and corollary of an action are deliberated before pursuing it.

Nowadays, people are more aware and savvy enough to judge their circumstances. They often tend to have a child when there is stability and enough wealth to take care of a child's health and his education. Such thoughts were missing in the past, where people were more moved by carrying on their ancestor's name than the necessities of a growing child.

Independence of couples has also been a reason in today's time to shift this time of having a child to a later stage in life. There were peer pressure of families and societies to start their family, even if there was no means of wages in the household. Such temperament of society has also gone through series of vigorous change and now accepts the decisions of a person to find a suitable time on his own.

In a nutshell, it has eventually benefited the child who is born at a later stage when there are basic facilities and requirements and enough wealth to help him grow up, sharpen his prudence and carry on this contemplation.