More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why?

Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

In the present age, a new trend is clearly seen in couples having children as they choose the later part of their age to do so than what was seen in the past. Such a decision has its own merits and demerits. This essay will discuss both the scenarios in a brief.

A clear advantage for couples in taking this step is that they can focus more on their careers and provide a stable platform for their children growing up. For example, a newly married young couple is new to their jobs too, they have to manage their workload with their personal life. They need to save money for their future, a proper home is the most important requirement for them. If they have a baby during this period it raises many issues in the household which can cause stress for the new parents. Therefore, if they feel comfortable to have children at a later age then it would certainly help them in raising their child in a stress-free environment and they could focus more on them.

But this trend has its disadvantages too as parents who get above a certain age may face some medical problems in having babies. Infertility is one of the most common and serious problems of our time which has a clear relation to age, stress and lifestyle. Another problem that can be seen is genetic abnormalities in the baby, chances of which increase if the mother is over 35 years of age. Thus, such parents develop serious concerns regarding the same and this may lead to depression and other problems at their workplace or homes.

To conclude, having a child at a later age is very common nowadays since people get more experienced and capable by then but with the effects of age also on them. So, in my opinion an earlier age is much more preferred than a later age, when the parents and their offspring are at equal risk.