In most countries, prison is an effective solution to the problem of crime. Some people think it is a more effective solution to provide education for those who violate the law. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Although prison plays an important role in deterring crime, some people argued that providing people with a better education is a more reasonable choice. I agree with this opinion.

The first reason I support this opinion is that people with higher levels of education are less likely to commit crimes because they have the ability to support themselves in cities. It is apparent that most criminals are in poor education which means they are not able to find a job in cities. In order to get rid of poverty, they are more likely to commit crimes such as robbing, stealing and defrauding. However, compared with prison which is used to punish people after crimes, if we provide them with better education, this situation would be solved fundamentally.

Another reason is that educating people better can help them realize the consequences when they commit a crime and give them a chance to correct themselves, which can reduce the re-crime rate more effectively. Sending criminals to prison is a kind of physical punishment that cannot help them correct themselves but accumulate anger toward society. What is more, the prison will cut down the connection between criminals and society since they will be kept in cells for a long time. As a result, when they are released, they will probably commit a crime again. By contrast, providing them a better education will make them more willing to admit their mistakes which can avoid this problem.

In conclusion, I believe that it is a more effective way to solve the problem of crime by offering a better education because of its benefits in helping people find a job and reducing the re-crime rate.